I Missed the Liturgy Today


I did not go to the Liturgy today and I felt bad for it. There was a certain emptiness within me, which made it quite easy to feel some frustration and blame my external circumstances for my absence. But then I realized that I was not ready to go to the Liturgy and that my going there would have meant nothing, even if, on the surface, it may have been a fulfillment. The regret that I did not go the Liturgy manifested the absence of Liturgy in my soul. If I had lived liturgically, so if I had tasted of the Cup on every moment, regret could not have translated to emptiness and frustration, but it would have remained a longing for something that somehow I already have.




I missed the Liturgy today, and missing it I was somehow blessed.

About Tavi's Corner

Blogging on ancient philosophy, communist persecution in Romania (including deportation to Siberia), and Orthodox Christianity. I've translated books from Romanian to English, and I also write about them from time to time.
This entry was posted in Orthodoxy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

