Another poem by Valeriu Gafencu


This is another poem by Valeriu Gafencu. Written in prison,  these poems survived because they were memorized by Valeriu’s friends. Gafencu was considered by many “the saint of prisons,” with a phrase consecrated by Nicolae Steinhardt.

As always, I would gladly entertain any suggestions for improving the translation.



Poem

by Valeriu Gafencu

My eyes are sorrow and my head is tired
by so much watchfulness and so much waiting,
my heart is sick, I feel my health required
by long and heavy running–it’s unending:
An injured bird–my heart is still on fire.

And when my eyes are close, I search within me
for strength, Golgotha I have to ascend,
and from my depth, a voice, en echo, tells me:
“Remember: Life is Jesus!” I consent.
“The precious pearl is in you.” A guarantee.

I contemplate the otherworldly morning
when You alive Rose from the tomb; I do,
again, with Magdalene, answer the calling
and so I kneel before You, crying, too:
I’m happy and I cry beholding You.




About Tavi's Corner

Blogging on ancient philosophy, communist persecution in Romania (including deportation to Siberia), and Orthodox Christianity. I've translated books from Romanian to English, and I also write about them from time to time.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another poem by Valeriu Gafencu

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great poem and translation!
    and, Tavi, your head might be hurting, but it has been magnificently used today:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you. I saw your comment only today. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

