Ode to my wife

 

This is a copy of a picture a good friend of ours, Jean-Claude Havaux, made at our wedding. 

I had a moment of weakness this morning. I was running here and there, being mentally preoccupied with the many things to do, and I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth. My wife was already there. I took a deep breath, I felt everything coming over me, and I said, “The truth is, I am finished.”

The moment of weakness passed by the time I was done brushing my teeth, and I began dealing step by step with the various things that were overwhelming me. But it just dawned on me that the one person who suffers with me through all of my ups and downs, regardless of whether she is fully aware of them or not, is my wife. I think both of us often spare the other of the various challenges that we have during the way. Nevertheless, before her, I am always naked: she sees when I come angry from work, when I fall down and say, “I am finished,” or when my hair slowly disappears from my scalp. She lives through my changes of career, my loss of physical strength (after 40, you consider it a blessing being able to spend a couple of hours on a soccer pitch and not getting injured by the end), or my various whims over the day. It’s not that she takes on my duties; there is no need for such thing. It’s rather that she stays with me through it all. She bears my cross by staying in my life.

This is not about the virtues that my wife has. Nor about the things that she does for me–by the way, she will never be able to make a ciorba de fasole verde (a soup of green beans) the way my mama mare (grandma) used to make :). It is rather about one weak human being who took upon herself a life that is touched every moment by the weaknesses of someone who was once a stranger to her: me.

My wife is, in many ways, my priest. And let me say it again: before her, I am always naked, just as I am, without any fears. My wife is my heaven.

*

The wonderful things in life 🙂

 

About Tavi's Corner

Blogging on ancient philosophy, communist persecution in Romania (including deportation to Siberia), and Orthodox Christianity. I've translated books from Romanian to English, and I also write about them from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

