The miracle of forgiveness

 

Photo by Andrei.


One often wonders whether there are miracles taking place in one’s life. I do not know about you, but I pray for miracles every day: I pray for forgiveness, and doing so I ask God to interfere in the laws of logic. I ask God to somehow cancel the consequences of my errors, to bring a miracle in my life, even if I do not deserve it.

If you consider forgiveness in transactional terms — forgiveness is offered by the harmed party when the perpetrator offers something in exchange (changes his heart, asks for forgiveness, goes through penance, etc.) — then what I said above may not make sense (by the way, I am currently reading a very interesting book, Martha Nussbaum’s Anger and Forgiveness; you’ll find an interesting discussion about transactional forgiveness, which seems to be the norm in the Western world). But if we depart from the realm of morality for a moment, we may consider that trespasses are manifestations of a disease, my own disease. When I sin, I bring upon me sores and pus, and the bridal chamber disappears in a foggy distance–I am no longer fit to be there. In the sickness of my sores, I do not have the power to redeem myself, and so I ask for a doctor, a doctor to “forgive” my illness, to cure it. I ask for a miracle. It is the longing for what I have lost that moves me toward the request. It is my desire to be clean again, to be healthy again, to find my wedding garment. I ask the Doctor to enlighten the vesture of my soul, so that I can be fit again for the Wedding that is being celebrated and to which I was invited. There is no thing I can offer in exchange–just supplication.

It is not a small thing to transform darkness into light; to make a god out of mud; to bring Heaven into my body. It is for such a miracle that we pray when we ask for forgiveness.


About Tavi's Corner

Blogging on ancient philosophy, communist persecution in Romania (including deportation to Siberia), and Orthodox Christianity. I've translated books from Romanian to English, and I also write about them from time to time.
This entry was posted in Orthodoxy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The miracle of forgiveness

  1. kyanaNell says:

    I wanted to mention that I recently got into contact with my mother again and it was because of your class 🙂 Forgiveness truly is a miracle!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

