The Prodigal Son: A Poem by Fr. Dumitru Ichim

This is a translation of a poem by Fr. Dumitru Ichim.

I would like to thank Gretchen (see her website here) for a suggestion in line 5 below. My first translation said, “All bridges are broken unstoppable…” The meaning was confusing, though, and Gretchen suggested to replace “unstoppable” with “impossible,” and I think this is much better.

The Prodigal Son

Rembrandt’s The Return of the Prodigal Son

“The fog slowly is rising around here:

Father, it’s dark, I’m taken by fear!”

“Why? Can you no longer see the road home?”

“My light and my heart are worn; I just roam;

All bridges are broken, impossible,

Because I love myself… the prodigal.

The fog slowly descends from the mountain

Cunningly, to the mill, to the fountain…

Do I just seem to hear the cranes singing?”

“The clouds deceive you: fog they are bringing…”

“Where are you Father? You are a rock beyond choice

And closer to me than my very own voice.

The silence is painful, but I still shout to you!

I am hungry of you, and I’m very cold, too!

Here is the poem in Romanian:

 FIUL RISIPITOR

– Ceața prin văi se ridică:

Tată, mi-e noapte,Tată mi-e frică!

Nu se mai vede drumul acasă?

– Lumina-i ruptă, inima roasă.

Punțile toate s-au frânt sub dorul

de mine însumi , risipitorul.

Ceața din munte viclean coboară

pe lângă moară, pe lângă moară…

Nu în părere se-aud cocorii?

– Ba da, cu ceață te-nșală norii…

– Unde ești, Tată – nerisipit rămas

cu mult mai aproape ca propriul meu glas?

Doare tăcerea, dar eu tot te strig:

De Tine mi-e foame și, tare mi- frig

About Tavi's Corner

Blogging on ancient philosophy, communist persecution in Romania (including deportation to Siberia), and Orthodox Christianity. I've translated books from Romanian to English, and I also write about them from time to time.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Prodigal Son: A Poem by Fr. Dumitru Ichim

  1. Mulțumim, domnule profesor Octavian Gabor, pentru această minunată traducere

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is very moving! Thank you for translating it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

