Eminescu’s Ode

January 15: Eminescu’s birthday.

Tavi's Corner

Mihai Eminescu is considered a Romanian national poet. I translated one of his poems in English:


Ode (in ancient meter)
                                          by Mihai Eminescu


I could not imagine ever learn to die;

Always youthful, fully wrapped in my mantle,

I directed my dreaming eyes always up

To solitude’s star.

When suddenly you sprang out onto my way,

Oh, you, suffering, you, so painfully sweet…

I drank the full glass of death’s voluptuousness…

Unmerciful death.

Woe, I burn alive, tormented like Nessus,

Or like Hercules, poisoned in his mantle;

I can’t extinguish my fire even with

All the sea’s waters.

Due to my own dream, I lament, all finished;

On my very own stake, I’m melting in flames

Can I ever come up, rise again brightly,

Just like the Phoenix?

May distracting eyes vanish out from my sight,

Come back to my bosom, sad indifference;

So that I can peacefully die…

View original post 8 more words

About Tavi's Corner

Blogging on ancient philosophy, communist persecution in Romania (including deportation to Siberia), and Orthodox Christianity. I've translated books from Romanian to English, and I also write about them from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

