Joyful thought about death

IMG_6250.JPG

I have a joyful thought about death lately. I am old, with a long white beard, and I stand next to my grandparents, my parents (both of them old), my wife (never old), and my brothers (old). Some of us have already passed away, others have not, but in this thought we are all together, somehow knowing that we are at the limit of our lives. And we laugh. Not a hysterical laughter. A joyful one, just like the one when Frodo wakes up in the Return of the King. We see each other and laugh. And we see my son and all other young people who are not with us, but somehow still with us, potentially with us, on the path toward being with us, and we laugh. I don’t even know whether we are dead or alive. But still we are with them, and I just know we laugh. No faults, no merits, no sorrows. We laugh.

And I think of God, Abraham, and Isaac having a good laughter together.

This thought always gives me a powerful joy, and the spectrum of death disappears; or death has already passed.

 

About Tavi's Corner

Blogging on ancient philosophy, communist persecution in Romania (including deportation to Siberia), and Orthodox Christianity. I've translated books from Romanian to English, and I also write about them from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Joyful thought about death

  1. Hm…Interesting…But dead is DEAD. Either as a spiritual or body experience. But I do think that all my dear death people will die the second time and FOR EVER once I’m passing away.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, that is a joyful thought – a vision of how we are in kairos, having overcome death.

    A Blessed Lent, Tavi!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

